The Barn Theatre
Enter your email address and stay informed:

Our 2016-2017 Season
Audition Information

Facebook Share Icon

A Man of No Importance

Back to Show Info

Audition Dates:

Sunday, March 19, 2017 at 7:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday, March 20, 2017 at 7:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Show Synopsis

Alfie Byrne is a bus driver in 1964 Dublin, whose heart holds secrets he can't share with anyone but his imagined confidante, Oscar Wilde. When he attempts to put on an amateur production of Wilde's Salome in the local church hall, he confronts the forces of bigotry and shame over a love "that dare not speak its name." But the redemptive power of theater changes his life and brings his friends back to his side. A Man Of No Importance is the second successful collaboration by the team of Terrence McNally, Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, all of whom won Tony Awards for Ragtime.

Audition Notes

The following parts are open.

Carney - (60's) The local butcher, Excitable - Sure of himself. Righteous. (Baritone)

Oscar Wilde - Suave, Urban (Baritone range)

Breton Beret - (30-40's) Seductive. Dangerous. Pub Patron. (Baritone)

Peter - Any Age - Pub Patron

Sully O'Hara - Any Age - Pub Patron

3 Pub Patrons - Any Age

Adele - (20-30's) A bit insecure. Secretive. (Lyric Soprano range)

Mrs. Patrick (30's-40's) Pretty. A bit sexy (Soprano range)

Irish accents a plus, but a dialogue coach will be available.

Performance Dates

Friday, May 12, 2017 at 8pm
Saturday, May 13, 2017 at 2pm
Sunday, May 14, 2017 at 2pm
Friday, May 19, 2017 at 8pm (Potential Benefit Performance)
Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 8pm
Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 2pm
Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 8pm (Potential Benefit Performance)
Friday, May 26, 2017 at 8pm
Saturday, May 27, 2017 at 8pm
Sunday, May 28, 2017 at 2pm
Thursday, June 01, 2017 at 8pm (Potential Benefit Performance)
Friday, June 02, 2017 at 8pm
Saturday, June 03, 2017 at 8pm

Actors are asked to arrive to sign in within the first hour of the audition start time. All roles are available. Casting is open, and newcomers are especially welcomed. Crew and other volunteers are also needed for the event. If interested, please contact info@barntheatre.org

***IMPORTANT: You will be asked to list ALL potential conflict dates AT THE TIME of your audition, (NOT after casting). Please be prepared with your calendar and out-dates, as a rehearsal schedule will be generated based upon availability of staff and cast.

The Barn is an all-volunteer organization, we are unable to provide housing or offer remuneration.